Currency in Havana

The national currency in Cuba is the Cuban Peso (CUP). The Cuban Convertible Peso (CUC) also circulates, used as a means of exchanging foreign currencies according to the officially established exchange rates. Check the website of the Metropolitan Bank of Cuba:

Tips for the traveler:

- In the airports there are Exchange Houses (CADECA) open 24 hours, we suggest when you arrive in Cuba, to change your money to CUC before leaving the airport. Always change in CADECA (official exchange houses) or in Banks, avoid changing with unauthorized persons for these purposes.

- In Cuba you can change the following currencies: Canadian dollar, British pound, Mexican peso, Swiss franc, Euro, Danish crown, Norwegian crown, Swedish crown, Japanese yen, Cuban peso and US dollar. Read more...