The population reaches 381 176 inhabitants, concentrated in 285 settlements of which 59 are urban and 226 rural. The province is made up of 11 municipalities: Bejucal, San José de las Lajas, Jaruco, Santa Cruz del Norte, Madruga, Nueva Paz, San Nicolás de Bari, Güines, Melena del Sur, Batabanó y Quivicán;making it the fifth most densely populated province in the country with 101.8 inhabitants per km2. The provincial capital is the city San José de las Lajas located in the municipality of the same name and its population reaches 37,402 inhabitants.

                       Jaruco, Mayabeque, Cuba Travel