Among the main sites of interest
The Plaza Mayor:
It is the heart of the Historical Urban Center of Trinidad; It is limited by the streets Real del Jigüe, Cristo and Desengaño. Surrounded by notable residences the Plaza Mayor de Trinidad; It has reached the present as it was configured in the mid-nineteenth century, when the recreation park was inaugurated (1856 - 1857), the conservation of the urban environment endorses the sense of time, place and authenticity of such a remarkable site.
The Convent of San Francisco de Asís (current National Museum of Fight Against Bandits)
Cantero Palace; inside it has a lookout tower; today Municipal Museum of History,
The Palace of Count Brunet
One of the first two-storey houses in the town, known as Romantic museum
The house of the Music.
On its long and wide staircase, located at the entrance of the house is its cozy bar, and visitors can witness from there, the original spectacle of the Trinitarian coast: the insertion of the peninsula of Ancon, the entire beach of María Aguilar , the Port of Casilda, The mouth of the Guaurabo; famous because it was visited by the discoverer Cristóbal Colón, the conqueror Diego Velásquez, the conquistador Hernán Cortés and the second discoverer of America, Alejandro Humboldt. Sitting on this same staircase, there is also a good panoramic view of the city, while listening to trinitarian music, played by good sound groups of the region.
The Greater Church.
The Church of the Holy Trinity was built in Sancti Spíritus between 1817 and 1892, with a delay of 75 years in its construction, which led to different styles such as neoclassical, Greek and the own tendencies of the 19th century. It is one of the largest temples in the country, has five naves and has a great reputation for wealth and interior art. Stresses the image of Our Father Jesus, whose tunic embroidered in gold was donated by Queen Elizabeth II. Its bell tower has three bells called Santísima Trinidad, Mayor and Nuestra Señora de la Consolación.
Sancti Spiritus City, Cuba
The city of Sancti Spíritus, a ancient city, with narrow and capricious streets equipped with a peculiar urban layout, unique perhaps throughout Cuba, in which the indigenous and Spanish footprints are juxtaposed, preserves a genuine colonial atmosphere, where the sun when starts walking through its streets allows to know much of its history. Its urban historic center was declared a National Monument on October 10, 1978.
It retains one of the most genuine colonial urban-architectural complexes in the country and in them lies the main reason for its beauty. In 1514, in areas near the Tuinucú River, it was founded by Don Diego de Velázquez, which begins to be transferred six years later to the banks of the Yayabo River, where it still remain.
The main sites of interest are:
Historical center of the city:
Formed by a mixed set of buildings from the 17th to the 20th centuries, it continues to be the center of the city today. It constitutes a sample of all the construction styles used in Cuba, together with its street and alleyways, many of them paved.
Sancti Spíritus Boulevard:
From its beginnings, at the end of the 90s, this boulevard was conceived with a scope that covered Independencia Street from Serafín Sánchez Park to the Foundation Park, Honorato Street to the corner of the School of Economics and the gap del Coco from Independencia to Céspedes. The actions focused on highlighting the cultural and social values that have their center in the city, its architecture, its expressions, the elements that enrich the facades and its main and popular characters.
Park (Square) Serafín Sánchez:
Nestled in the center of the historic center of the city exhibits in its center a bust of this hero and martyr of the wars for independence born in the city, who will reach the rank of general. In the central roundabout classical music is still performed on Sunday mornings by the Municipal Band of Sancti Spíritus, a tradition that has lasted since the times of the neo colony. Around it, neoclassical buildings are built, such as the old Lyceum, today the Rubén Martínez Villena Provincial Library, the Provincial Center for Cultural Heritage with large windows and stained glass windows and ceilings, as well as the old Hotel Pearl of Cuba, which was one of the most luxurious in the center of the country. The surroundings of this square constitute a shopping center with shops and bars.
The Plaza Mayor (José Manuel García Park):
Located next to the Parroquial Mayor, flanked by Máximo Gómez, Honorato and Jesús Menéndez streets, it is the oldest urban space in the city. According to traditional historiography, it had in its original environment the first religious institution, the Cabildo and the houses of the most connoted characters, all executed with little durable materials. After the assassination in 1912 of Doctor Rudesindo García del Rijo, who was an eminent doctor and scientist, with great charitable activity, the Italian statue that is now in the center of the place was placed, and it was called Parque José Manuel García, in honor to the doctor, father of Doctor Rudesindo García del Rijo.